Two Objections to the Atonement from Other Religions

Ok … I will have to do more research before I flesh this out in greater detail. For now, I just want to note these so I do not forget to look into it in the future.

Arabic Bible

A Common Objection from Islam:
~ Muslim’s find objectionable the idea that Jesus – God in the flesh could die on the cross. To die on the cross was to die a shameful death. How can you say that a great prophet such as Jesus could have died in this ignominious manner? This cannot be true.

A Less Common Objection from Hinduism:
~ How can you say that I must accept the fact that an innocent man died for my sins? If I have sinned, then I must incur the consequences for that sin myself. Why should someone else – especially someone innocent? That is not right. I would rather go to Hell than have someone else – someone innocent – suffer for my sins. That in itself is unjust.

You can find a streak of this sort of thinking in Dayananda Saraswati, and you can find it plainly in Keshub Chandra Sen and Swami Vivekananda.

~~~~~~~~~
BTW, the above jpg is of an Arabic Bible. Beautiful isn’t it?

