Rabindranath Tagore and the Song of Songs (i.e. Song of Solomon)

(I am moving this post from another blog of mine to this.)

I have been skimming through parts of Lover’s Gift, by Rabindranath Tagore, and cannot help but suspect that Tagore had crossed paths with Song of Songs – a book on love and lovers, found in the Bible. Tagore quite simply had to have read it at some point in his life. There are things in there that just are very reminiscent of Song of Songs.

Anyway, take a look a the following excerpts from Lover’s Gift and then take a look at Song of Songs in either the KJV or the NIV. God Bless!

From 31 ~ A Posy

“My flowers were like milk and honey and wine;I bound them into a posy with a gold ribbon, but they escaped my watchful care and fled away and only the ribbon remains.

My songs were like milk and honey and wine, they were held in the rhythm of my beating heart… the beauty I loved was like milk and honey and wine, her lips like the rose of the dawn, her eyes bee-black.”

From 15

Her neighbors call her dark in the village – but she is a lily to my heart, yes, a lily though not fair. Light came muffled with clouds, when first, I saw her in the field; her head was bare, her veil was off, her braided hair hanging loose on her neck. She may be dark as they say in the village, but I have seen her black eyes and am glad. …

She is dark as the message of shower in the summer, dark as the shade of flowering woodland; she is dark as the longing for unknown love in the wistful night of May.”

From 13

“Last night in the garden I offered you my youth’s foaming wine.”

From 30

“The Spring flowers break out like the passionate pain of unspoken love. With their breath comes the memory of my old day songs. My hear of a sudden has put on green leaves of desire. My love came not but her touch is in my limbs, and her voice comes across the fragrant fields. …”

From 2

“Come to my garden walk, my love. Pass by the fervid flowers that press themselves on your sight.”

From 3

Proudly step into my orchard, my queen, sit there in the shade, pluck the ripe fruits from their stems, and let them yield, the utmost, their burden of sweetness at your lips.”

