“Increase our faith!”

The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!” ~Luke 17:5

Someone recently expressed a worry that I myself have had on many an occasion.  The worry was that if I pray and ask God to increase my faith, then I will be hit with a trial.  Later on when I began to think about it, I started to see that this was somewhat off-base.

For now I will just post an outline and will finish this later.

I. If I pray asking God to increase my faith, then I will be hit with a trial.
II. This is false because…
A. God may increase your faith by giving you some unasked for blessing.
1. Example: Perhaps the passage that you meditate on during your during your devotion blesses you with a better understanding of God’s goodness and this increases your confidence in Him.
2. Example: Perhaps you are a research professor and you unexpectedly receive funding from some source, enabling you move forward in an even bigger way. You now learn that God really is for you.
B. There are avoidable trials and unavoidable trials.
1. Unavoidable –
a. Example: persecution. Christians are promised this in the Bible on many occasions.
~ “If they persecuted me, they will persecute you.” John 15:18-20
2. Avoidable –
a. Example: What we incur when we are disciplined
b. Example: What may come our way when we ask for an increase in faith.
i. Asking for an increase in your faith results in making the unavoidable trials easier to go through.
Example: Its easier to speak in front of a crowd of 1,000 if you have spoken in front of a 100 before. If you have never spoken in front of a 100 or 200 or any amount and then have to speak in front of a 1,000, it might be nerve-wracking.

