Contentment & Comparison (MOL)

Of late I have been researching the Meaning of Life and tracking issues that I think are involved therein.  This post is part of this MOL “series.”

~ While reading John 3, a thought occurred to me that there are forms of comparison that we can engage in which really belie discontentment with  God.  In this chapter, we see the disciples of John the Baptist come and tell him that Jesus is baptizing a lot more people than they are.  John the Baptist’s response is telling.  He states,

27 … “A person can receive only what is given them from Heaven.   … He must become greater; I must become less.”

I really like that John’s response because what it really shows is that he is satisfied with God.  

Another incident that comes to mind is takes place during one of Jesus’ post-resurrection appearances :

20 Peter turned and saw that the disciple whom Jesus loved was following them. … 21 When Peter saw him, he asked, “Lord, what about him?”  22 Jesus answered, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You must follow me.”  ~ John 21:20-22

I.e. Don’t look at others. Look at what I am doing in your life.

{ ASIDE … Stream of Consciousness …}

I am reminded of a story – Michelangelo was once teaching sculpture to his students and one of his students kept trying to imitate this or that artist’s style.  When Michelangelo came up to him and saw what he had sculpted, he just grabbed the students clay sculpture and mashed it up and ruined his work.  The student was upset but Michelangelo said to him, “If you want to be original, be yourself.”

{END of ASIDE}

Now all of what I have said does not mean that comparison is always bad.  There are forms are good.  At least one verse comes to mind.  In 1 Cor. 11:1, Paul says, “Follow me as I follow Christ.”  Amen.

