Purpose vs. Meaning – thoughts in passing…

I am not too sure of my thoughts here, so please read with a grain of salt.

What is the meaning of a screwdriver?

A screwdriver has a purpose but it does not necessarily have meaning.  Its purpose is to screw in screws.  Meaning however? Odd question.

On the flip side within the context of some fictional story, a screwdriver might have meaning.  Perhaps it is symbolic of something.  Or maybe it is a clue or something that Holmes needs in order to figure out how the murder was committed.  However this is all in the context of a fiction story… not a non-fiction stories which is what life is all about.

The point simply is that meaning and purpose are distinct. Many people assume that the issue of the meaning of life and the issue of the purpose of life are one and the very same… but I think that they are distinct.  I think that we can say that meaning implies purpose, but purpose does not necessarily imply meaning.

There was something else but I cannot remember what.

~?~ All of life is infused w/ meaning. Meaning vs. significance

Other:

“My people have committed two evils: they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters,
and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water” (Jer. 2:13).

