Self-Stultifying Arguments – Cataloguing

My uncle often used to say:

“There are no absolutes.”

At the time I never corrected him, however he no longer says it. The problem with the statement is obvious. I could have asked him “Is what you say absolutely true?” I.e. Is his statement an absolute? Because if it is…

Here I just want to collect some other like statements.

1) “There is no such thing as truth.”

2) “You can never know anything for sure.”

3) “God is unknowable.” Other variants: God is indescribable. Human language cannot describe God.

4) “Everything is illusion.”

5) “You can’t be certain of anything.”

6) “It is wrong to judge.”

Linkage:

~ Self-Defeating Statements by Apologetic Junkie

~ Self-Refuting Statements @ Cults.co.nz

~ Self-Stultifying Arguments (Unfinished) @ Glenn Miller’s Christian Thinktank

