Happiness As A By-product

Painting by Giovanni Francesco Caroto
Painting by Giovanni Francesco Caroto (1480-1555 or 1558)

My latest FB status are paraphrases that come from googling google books: (Correct me if notes are wrong.)

Happiness is a by-product of virtue. ~ St. Augustine (354-430 AD)
Happiness is a by-product of our pursuit of perfection. ~ Kant (1724-1804)
Happiness is a by-product of the satisfaction of desires for things other than happiness itself. Those who aim directly at happiness do not find it. ~ Bishop Butler (1692-1758)
Happiness is a by-product of living the virtuous life. Aristotle (384-322 BC)

This has been on my mind because of it seems that the idea might be in the following verse:

“Seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things shall be given to you as well.” ~ Matthew 6:33

*Note: I added that painting because I think it looks funny.

