Song of Songs – Random Notes In Passing

I. Song of Songs
A. History – most commented on w/ Rev
B. Two extremes in Interpretations – Victorian prudish vs. Oversexed interpretations
II. SoS 2:7, 3:5, 8:4 (see verse below)
A. Love is under our control in some sense
B. Time for everything including love
III. Consequences of arousing love
A. Pacing – Hitting the [Fast-Forward >>] button: Moving too fast can result in
i. Physical stickiness – even sex – Pre-marital sex: What is meant to work as a bond within marriage is weakened.
ii. Emotional stickinessyou can undress emotionally, not just physically- both bad.
B. you can go through an emotional divorce
– “Guard your heart / wellspring!” ~Prov. 4:23 (You do not need to be married to go through a divorce.) – Hit the [Pause] button
iii. Results of i. and ii. – Loss in discernment – blurred vision
a. You can fall in love with the wrong person
b. You can fall in love with the right person (but make a wrong decision) at the wrong time.
c. You can fall out of love with the right person
d. You can break up with the right person.
e. It become difficult discerning who Mr. Right is.

Some lessons:
1. SoS 2:7, 3:5, 8:4 – Mentioned in my outline above.

“Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you by the gazelles and by the does of the field: Do not arouse or awaken love until it so desires.” ~ SoS 2:7

2. Ownership, belonging & assurance

“My lover is mine and I am his; he browses among the lilies.” ~ SoS 2:16
“I am my lover’s and my lover is mine; he browses among the lilies.” ~SoS 6:3
“I belong to my lover, and his desire is for me.” ~SoS 7:10

Questions:
~ Why does the location of the “I” and “my lover” shift in the first two verses?
~ And why does it say “his desire is for me” in 7:10?
~ What has happened since 2:16, going down to 7:10? For one thing a wedding.
~ Can you own a person before marriage? After? In what sense? (Let’s not think of this in the slavery extreme).
~ Are there stages of love (amorous) that a person goes through before, during and late into marriage?
~ Do we see stages in the three verses above?

~~~~~
A blurb of mine regarding SoS 7:1-6 – that got published in the Graduate Scrawl, my school’s paper:

~~> Its something like this. SoS 7 is about a husband describing the beauty of his wife. It is not simply about a man describing the beauty of a woman. This passage teaches a husband how he ought to view his wife, and it teaches a single man how he ought NOT to view any woman. This actually goes against the currents of our culture, where men go to the malls, movies, etc., and gawk at women, giving them inappropriate SoS 7 looks. To get what I am trying to say, consider what would happen if you showed this passage to a older mature married Christian man versus one of the mall rats I just mentioned. Their reactions would be different.

Additionally I want also to add something… Sometimes the way women dress can really get us men worked up. They could always do us a favor and in some contexts tone down the way they dress. Why feed the rats

Other:
C.S. Lewis with help from the Greeks distinguished between 4 forms of love: Eros, Agape, Storgei and Philia
~ I distinguish between two forms of love – a Eros form and a non-Eros form, a Song of Songs form and a Corinthians form.
A. The Song of Songs (eros) form 8:6-7:
“Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm; for love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away. If one were to give all the wealth of his house for love, it would be utterly scorned.”

B. 1 Corinthians 13:1+
“If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing. 4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12 Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. 13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”

