Overlooking Offense

“A person’s wisdom yields patience; it is to one’s glory to overlook an offense.” ~ Proverbs 19:11 (NIV)

“Good sense makes one slow to anger, and it is his glory to overlook an offense.” ~ Proverbs 19:11 (ESV)

In Luke 7 we have a story where Jesus is anointed by a sinful woman at a dinner party being held by a Pharisee named Simon. This lady basically drops tears on his feet and then wipes them with her hair. In addition she also pours out an alabaster jar of perfume on his feet and wipes them and even kisses them. Anyway… you can read about it here.

~ What I find interesting is the subsequent exchange that takes place between Jesus and Simon. Simon is critical of Jesus allowing a sinner to touch His feet. In response Jesus points out a number of things:

Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet.” ~ Luke 7

My questions that follows from this:

1) At what point during this dinner party did Jesus point out all these offenses of Simon?

2) Suppose the woman had not crashed the party to pour perfume on His feet and wash and kiss them – suppose she just plainly had never showed up – would Jesus have pointed out all of those things to Simon?

