Spiritual Dialysis… work on later..

Kidneys
Kidneys

~ So I have had a little bit of a struggle at the church I am currently am. It just seems like there is no flow here. What do I mean by that? Well the Church is the Body of Christ and in a body there ought to be flow – circulation. If the circulation is not good then … then there are issues.

Example: it just seems like in our church many people just take off right after services. Not many people stick around to chat. Chatting I think is one of the major ways that we have relational flow.

Another Example: At some point during services the person up on stage will tell everyone to get up and greet the persons sitting near them. And that’s what we do. We shake hands and say “Hello! Good Morning. Yada yada yada.” and so on. However something about this just does not settle. I feel that these are just a bunch of token hellos and token smalltalk. One sign that this is so is that when services are over, the people you have intro’d yourself to just take off. They do not even say “Good bye” or “See you next week”.  So I’m a little iffy about these hellos and such.  Maybe I am over-analyzing. Maybe I just don’t understand the culture here since I am new to the are – but this are my suspicions thus far.

Dialysis
Dialysis

Now all that said – on an email list from one of my prior churches a friend of mine sent an email where she said the following:

“I don’t know about other ladies but I feel I have been esp. grappling lately with … [CUT] … Perhaps it is more of a round table discussion? Sometimes I do feel as if we NEVER have enough time just sharing and in fellowship and prayer for one another. Often the most effective times in growing my faith and “improving” my walk with Christ in all facets of my life happens after time spent with other sisters in Christ and I so appreciate it!

So my thought – odd one though it may be – is that in some sense the Church has to function as a spiritual dialysis machine. That is that the church has to remove all sorts of impurities and goop from our system so that there can be better flow and circulation in our own bodies.  I mean this is what a dialysis machine does.  No? It rids our body (blood) of all kinds of crud so that things can flow better.  So we have to make weekly trips to Church to have our bodies cleansed.

Kidneys shaped like a heart
Kidneys shaped like a heart

“… perfect love drives out fear… ” ~1 John 4:18

~ I will have to keep thinking… my thoughts are not settled yet.

Another thought: The Church is the River of Life. We need to be immersed in it. We are to be its various branches & tributaries and such taking life out to the farthest parts. We are no to be isolated ponds in the desert. The river must flow.

