The Blind See


(1) Leonhard Euler (1707-1783), the blind mathematician was a Christian – a Calvinist in fact.  Here is a good article on him.

Its pretty amazing if you think about it. A blind man performing all these calculations and proving theorem and theorem without the aid of any paper?

The following is Euler’s Formula:

Ack!

(2) The blind poet, Fanny Crosby (1820-1915) wrote over 9,000 hymns! We have all sung her hymns at one point or other in our lives. We just may not have known who wrote the hymn (e.g. Blessed Assurance).

~ Note at 9,000/365 = 24, you could sing a different hymn of hers every day for 24 years straight!

I discovered her hymn Redeemed! on Youtube.

(3) The English poet, John Milton (1608-1674) by 1660 was almost completely blind.  His best work, including Paradise Lost (1667) would come subsequent to his blindness.  Here is a poem he wrote on his blindness, which contains a key theological question.

On His Blindness

WHEN I consider how my light is spent
E’re half my days, in this dark world and wide,
And that one Talent which is death to hide,
Lodg’d with me useless, though my Soul more bent
To serve therewith my Maker, and present
My true account, least he returning chide,
Doth God exact day-labour, light deny’d, 
I fondly ask; But patience to prevent
That murmur, soon replies, God doth not need
Either man’s work or his own gifts, who best
Bear his milde yoak, they serve him best, his State
Is Kingly. Thousands at his bidding speed
And post o’re Land and Ocean without rest:
They also serve who only stand and waite.

