The Law of Christ & The Law of Moses

There are two major laws discussed in the Bible. One is the Mosaic or Sinaitic Law and the second is The Law of Christ.

When Moses came down from Mount Sinai, he was given 600+ commandments. This we call the Mosaic Law. What formed the core of the Law  were the 10 commandments.  The New Testament tells us that this Mosaic Law has been fulfilled by the Lord Jesus Christ and is no longer applicable to us.

For example,
~ You no longer need to sacrifice bulls, pigeons or goats.
~ You no longer need to worry about wearing clothes with mixed fabrics.
~ You no longer need to worry about eating pork.
~ You no longer need observe the Sabbath.
~ You no longer need to observe the penalty for Sabbath breaking – i.e. the Death Penalty!

Does this mean that we no longer need to worry about telling lies, or murder or coveting?

~ No.


It is because the Law of Christ is still applicable and it contains commands against coveting (Colossians 3: 5), fornication (1 Corinthians 6:18), etc..

While the Mosaic Law with the 10 commandments were fulfilled by Jesus so that you do not need to observe them, you still need to observe the Law of Christ. The contents of the Law of Christ are found all thru the New Testament. The Law of Christ comes to us with one key difference from the Sinaitic Law. What is that?

It comes with the provision that if you repent from your sins and turn to Christ making Him your Lord and Savior, then God will send the Holy Spirit to you, Who will help you keep His commandments.

“Christ in you, the hope of glory.” ~ Colossians 1:27