Notes from Graham Cole’s He Who Gives Life (2/3)

~ I am taking some notes from Dr. Graham Cole’s book, He Who Gives Life: The Doctrine of the Holy Spirit. I have basically wanted a better understanding of the expression “filled with the Holy Spirit” and so I have consulted Dr. Cole’s book. My notes come from pages 217-219 and 243-244 of the book.

In my previous post I mentioned Dr. Cole’s observation that quite often the expression “filled with the Holy Spirit” is found side by side with a conjunction plus a speech act. I.e. the following is quite often what we see:

~~> “filled with the Holy Spirit” + “and” “[some speech act]”

Now I want to take a note on another somewhat similar phenomenon that Dr. Cole mentions. This is that the expression “filled with the Holy Spirit” is ALSO found side by side with a conjunction plus “some aspect of character or personal life”. [pg. 218] So here the formula is:

~~~> “filled with the Holy Spirit” + “and” “[some character trait]”

Lets take a look at some verses here.

(1) “… pick out from among you seven men of good repute, full of the Spirit and of wisdom …” ~ Acts 6:3

(2) “… they chose Stephen, a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit…” Acts 6:5 (Ok. Slight reversal here.)

(3) “… for he[Barnabas] was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and of faith.” ~ Acts 11:24

(4) “… And the disciples were filled with joy and with the Holy Spirit.” ~ Acts 13:52 (Ok. Slight reversal here also. While this is not a big deal, I’ll check the Koine Greek in a sec.)

~ Once again its needs to be noted these are all coming from the pen of Dr. Luke, MD (aka MBBS).

Ok. Checking (4):

“… οἵ τε μαθηταὶ ἐπληροῦντο
χαρᾶς καὶ πνεύματος ἁγίου.” ~ Acts 13:52
” … joy and pneumatos holy”

