The Green and the Grey – tentative thoughts

John Hancock Bldg
John Hancock Building – Chi-town

 

The green and the gray…

The garden and the city

The forest and the metropolis

I am not sure how to explain this.  I just saw this video which I absolutely loved but… but for one tiny nit: It has a bit too much grey-ness at times.

Takuya Suzuki 2014 Modeling Reel from suztak on Vimeo.

~ I think that there are two different (perhaps opposing?) impulses found in humans.

An impulse to greenery and an impulse to grey-ery. That is we have an impulse towards nature and an impulse towards the city. What I am trying to say is that we have a impulse for the silence and solace(?) of nature and an impulse for the hustle and bustle of of the metropolis.

metropolisfritzlang~ Its more than just an impulse. I would say it is really a longing. There is something to the healing solitude one can find in the woods. (Spend time in nature and you will find that the healing just seeps into your soul.  He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leadeth me beside still waters” ~Psalm 23:2)  And yet there is something to the dive-into-life quality – “Ah… life!” –  found amidst the crowds and cabs of the concrete jungle.

What is interesting is that the first book of the Bible, Genesis begins with a place that is primarily a garden – the Garden of Eden.  It is primarily a garden and secondarily a city (or something that is hand-built).  Yes – there is a city like or a design like quality to the Garden of Eden.  An Indian would understand this because in India we have so many incredible gardens like the Brindhavan Gardens. In the US they don’t have such types of gardens. Here quite often a garden consists of just grass!

brindhavan

The Bible on the other hand ends with the book of Revelation. Here we are presented with a city, the New Jerusalem. This place is primarily a city, and secondarily something that is garden-like.

I saw the Holy City, the New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband.” ~ Revelation 21:2

~ Interesting that I have a nature wallpaper on my laptop. I live in a small city. I bet if I went out the country and took a look at the laptop of some woodsy farming guy, he would have on it a city wallpaper.

(Not 100% sure about this.  Still need to research this, especially New Jerusalem. Also wonder if Eden is obsolete as it is found in the infra-strictures of the Old Covenant (e.g. the tabernacle). Life is not so much about the echoes of Eden, but more rather about the stirrings of the New Jerusalem.)

