Gethsemane

In Matthew 26, Jesus indicates that though He will die, He will ultimately live again in the Father’s Kingdom.

27 And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he gave it to them, saying, “Drink of it, all of you, 28 for this is my blood of the[c] covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. 29 I tell you I will not drink again of this fruit of the vine until that day when I drink it new with you in my Father’s kingdom.”

~ He may have done this several times before, viz. indicate that He will wind up in Heaven ultimately. This surely is a cause for joy. Knowing that your ultimate fate involves Heaven should drown all sorrows should do so. No?

Later on in Matthew 26, we find that

36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to his disciples, “Sit here, while I go over there and pray.” 37 And taking with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he began to be sorrowful and troubled. 38 Then he said to them, “My soul is very sorrowful, even to death; remain here, and watch with me.

Why is Jesus sorrowful when He knows that His ultimate fate will involve rejoicing in Heaven?

~ I know that this sounds like pettifoggery but still…

