Ann Hasseltine Judson (1789-1826)

~ “Love … rejoices with the truth.”~ 1 Corinthians 13:6

~ It is not enough to know the truth.  One must also feel the truth. Cold truth does not persuade. It can in fact alienate. This is why it is important to write well.  To write well is to write life.

In this post I want to follow through on what I mentioned in my previous post. Since March is Women’s History Month, I want to post a thing or two on some women.  In this post, I want to post some excerpts from the Memoirs of Mrs. Ann H. Judson, who was really blessed with a gift for writing.  Judson was the wife of Adoniram Judson. They together were missionaries to Rangoon, Burma.

I. Delightful excerpt from  Ruth Tucker’s book, From Jerusalem to Irian Jaya, pg. 139. Tucker is getting her excerpt from another book, To the Golden Shore: The Life of Adoniram Judson, by Courtney Anderson, pg. 509.

“We are blessed with our full share of cockroaches, beetles, lizards, rats, ants, mosquitoes, and bed-bugs. With the last the woodwork is all alive, and the ants troop over the house in great droves. … Perhaps twenty have crossed my paper since I have been writing. Only one cockroach has paid me a visit, but the neglect of these gentlemen has been made fully made up by a company of black bugs about the size of the end of your finger – nameless adventurers.”

II.  From the Memoirs:

To Rev. Dr. Wayland.
“Baltimore, Dec. 5, 1822”

“How much of heaven might Christians enjoy even here on earth, if they would make an effort, if they would keep in view what ought to be their great object in life. If they would but make the enjoyment of God their main pursuit, how much more consistent with their profession would be their conduct, how much more useful their lives, and how much more rapidly would they ripen for eternal glory. Christians do not sufficiently assist each other in their walk. They are not enough in the habit of conversing familiarly and affectionately on the state of each other’s souls, and kindly encouraging each other to persevere and get near to heaven. One degree of grace attained in this world is worth more than every earthly enjoyment. …”

All That Aside … Some Jazzzz… My Two Cents Worth of Writing Advice:
~ When it comes to writing, I am nothing special but for whatever reason I have been told by bunches of people that I can write well and even that I should pursue it more formally.  My answer to all of this is: “Neti. Neti. Neti.” Sorry.  Why? I don’ know why.  I have not settled the thought yet.  And … that all said, I do have writing tips, for those so interested:

1¢) Read. Read. Read! ~~~> and that too broadly, not just in the area of your personal interests.
~ This is perhaps the most common tip given out by folks in the writing community.

1¢) Write. Write. Write!

Malcolm Gladwell is known for popularizing the 10,000 hour rule.  He basically says that whatever your craft is, you need to invest 10,000 hours into it before you become really good at it. So … Write! Write! Write! Find your voice and get it out. Just as a preacher has to preach, preach, preach in order to find his voice, so too you must write, write, write.

All that said, here is something I made in Xara and tweeted at chasingpeacocks.

AHJ

 

