Weakness: Worldly & Biblical

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me … For when I am weak, then I am strong.” ~2 Corinthians 12:9, 10

~ There are very many verses that talk about weakness in the Bible. The above is just one. There are also stories of weakness. I just read ARE YOU WEAK ENOUGH FOR GOD TO USE YOU? by Pastor J.D. Greear which is in the main, about Gideon.

The quick comment I want to make in passing is that there is such a thing as worldly weakness and biblical weakness.

Worldly weakness, no matter the form it comes in, whether it be sickness, insecurity, hopelessness, etc., is a form of weakness that ultimately terminates in the self, i.e. a dead end.

Biblical weakness on the other hand has as its endpoint, God. It has as its end, a full-fledged, abandoned to the world, complete dependence upon God. This is what Paul is talking about. This is the one where we consciously claim the promises found in Scripture, pray day and all night, get godly counsel, etc. and thus move forward.

yellow

