Matthew 11:28-30 ~ The Nature of a Yoke (1)

~ In this post I am just going to gather some background information on what a yoke is. I will likely need to refer to this information in future posts. I will start by setting down the koine:

28 Δεῦτε πρός με πάντες οἱ κοπιῶντες καὶ πεφορτισμένοι, κἀγὼ ἀναπαύσω ὑμᾶς. 29 ἄρατε τὸν ζυγόν μου ἐφʼ ὑμᾶς καὶ μάθετε ἀπʼ ἐμοῦ, ὅτι πραΰς εἰμι καὶ ταπεινὸς τῇ καρδίᾳ, καὶ εὑρήσετε ἀνάπαυσιν ταῖς ψυχαῖς ὑμῶν· 30 ὁ γὰρ ζυγός μου χρηστὸς καὶ τὸ φορτίον μου ἐλαφρόν ἐστιν. From:  Nestle, E., Nestle, E., Aland, B., Aland, K., Karavidopoulos, J., Martini, C. M., & Metzger, B. M. (1993). The Greek New Testament (27th ed., Mt 11:28–30). Stuttgart: Deutsche Bibelgesellschaft.

~ ζυγός (zygos) means yoke.

Here is said passage in the ESV: 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

Another verse where zygos or yoke is used is Acts 15:10: “Now, therefore, why are you putting God to the test by placing a yoke on the neck of the disciples that neither our fathers nor we have been able to bear?”

And yet still another verse with zygos is 2 Cor. 6:14: “Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?”

All that said, here is what a yoke look like? Here is one picture: Although you cannot see it too well, there are these two circular things called bows that wrap around the neck of the buffaloes. Let me see if I can find a picture that shows the bows. … Since I am unable at the moment to find a free picture of a yoke, I will put together a slapdash drawing of one. Here it is: A yoke basically looks something like this. YokeBOne last thing. There is also a term that I want to jot down. It is yokefellow. Here is its definition from Dictionary.com:

Yokefellow:

1. an associate or companion, especially at work; partner.
2. a spouse.

I’ll end this with another verse: “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” ~ Galatians 5:1

