On Giving Too Much Advice

Ephesians 4:29 states,

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

~ Its the “according to their needs” clause that has jumped out at me of late.  I can think of at least two problem areas that this verse calls me on.

(1) Giving misdirected advice: The person has a problem with A, and you give advice on dealing with B. Basically results from not listening well.

I had a friend who once talked to me about how she was thinking about dropping out of college and I just rambled on with all this stuff that I thought would help but failed to see that the problems were really sourced in some psychological issues that also were likely connected to home.

(2) Giving too much advice: Blah blah blah. My above example should serve to explain this as well. I have had a habit of just rambling on presuming to know the entirety of a given situation and a person’s life and … Not!

