When the Dead Give Life …

When Elisha became sick with the illness of which he was to die, Joash the king of Israel came down to him and wept over him and said, “My father, my father, the chariots of Israel and its horsemen!” 15 Elisha said to him, “Take a bow and arrows.” So he took a bow and arrows …

ElishaAndJoash

20 Elisha died, and they buried him. Now the bands of the Moabites would invade the land in the spring of the year. 21 As they were burying a man, behold, they saw a marauding band; and they cast the man into the grave of Elisha. And when the man touched the bones of Elisha he revived and stood up on his feet. ~ 2 Kings 13:14, 15, 20+

~ I have an aunt who is a psychiatrist. She once walked into the room of a new patient and the patient said to her, “Oh. You can’t help me. You don’t know what I have been through!”

Up above we have a story of how Elisha, a man who during his life healed quite a few people and yet now was sick and headed towards death. Then we move forward in his story a short bit to his death and find out something else interesting. Even while dead, he gave life to someone.

Could my aunt have given life to her patient? Or did she need to go out and get felled by the thing that felled this person and then come back and be on with counseling saying “I know just how you feel?”

~ But thats not really what I wanted to talk about… per this story… Here is what . . .

– Some people cannot draw a line. However they are great art critics. In fact their critiques can be so constructive that an artist with an open ear can actually improve in their artwork.

– Some people cannot preach a sentence. However they can give such good feedback on a sermon heard that the preacher becomes much better. Though they themselves are dead in the pulpit, they however can give life to others in the pulpit.

– An English Lit. prof may at best write dead prose and just even on a good day may not be able to write a line of poetry or fiction. However she may be a fantastic writing coach to her students.

– The list of examples goes on… however there was one that I thought flashed my mind, but I have lost it. Cannot remember…

~ ~ I think I now remember… sometimes when you are preparing a message, you may find that you are not getting impacted by it as you should. So you think to yourself, how can I preach this. If I am not feeling anything, how can others? Should you just not bother?

Not necessarily. The fact of the matter is that no matter your condition, the Holy Spirit can still use your work to impact others. Just because you are perhaps in a hopefully temporarily lapsed state does not mean that the message will not effect anyone.

