Romans 12:12

jih

~ For the last 4 days I have been thinking about this verse… strangely enough even in the dead of the night, in mid-sleep. I have wanted to pass it on to someone going through some struggles and been thinking about it a whole lot.

I’ve been thinking a lot about it because it seems as though it can be translated in both:

  • a descriptive sense and a prescriptive sense
  • an indicative fashion and an imperative fashion
  • a fact and a value
  • in the form of an is and the form of an ought
  • as being and as a be.

Both are important and yet my preference is for the indicative, for being over be (= doing). The indicative seems to be more passive-oriented and about the work being done in you by the Holy Spirit whereas the imperative is about the work that you have to do.

First the Greek:
   τῇ ἐλπίδι χαίροντες,  (= in hope, rejoicing)
   τῇ θλίψει ὑπομένοντες,
   τῇ προσευχῇ προσκαρτεροῦντες, ~ Romans 12:12

~ Which I need to think though and come back to later… but post for now for future reference. Also I will quickly note the οντες for now… These signal participles or ______-ing words.

And now… the English…
Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer (Romans 12:12, NIV).

~ Notice that this verse in the NIV begins with a “be”. The NIV is a more user-friendly version.

Others

 Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer (Romans 12:12, ESV).

Two be’s.

 Rejoicing in hope; patient in tribulation; continuing instant in prayer (Rom. 12:12, KJV).

~ The above is the classic King James Version in its 1611 English. No be’s. Just being?

 “… rejoicing in hope, persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer …”  (NASB)

~ No be’s… two -ings for being but all three describe states of being.

One more…

“… rejoicing in hope, enduring in affliction, being devoted to prayer” (Lexham)

~ this one even has a being in it…

Going back to the context in Romans – I do want to note that verse 9 which precedes it states the following:

“Love must be sincere. …” Romans 12:9 (NIV)
“Let love be genuine” Romans 12:9 (ESV)

So am I being told to allow love to be of a certain sort (= being) or do I do something so that it is expressed sincerely?

Words cannot describe why I like this verse – in the Indicative. I basically like the NIV minus the be.

…  joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer (Romans 12:12, NIV).

When I first met this verse in the NIV I think, it seem to have wrapped up within it some sort of a beautiful contemplative silence.  A pensive, emotional silence. Something of that sort. I am not sure how to describe it.

