On Nullifying God’s Promises ~ Sort of…

~ Here is a thought:

Suppose it is early in the month and I make a promise to you and say,

“I promise you that I will give you a 100 bucks on the last day of the month.” 

Now since I have given such a promise, I am obligated to keep it – if I have any character and integrity that is.

Now suppose later on, during the middle of the month, I go to the amusement park for a holiday and to enjoy the rides ands such there I run into you again. Here you remind me of the promise I made.  Now, what would you think if I then say,

“Hey. Look. I know  I owe you a 100 bucks and I know I promised to pay you at the end of the month, but let me say this to you now:

I promise you that I will give you 50 bucks on the last day of the month.”

What would your reaction be?

Obviously you would not accept this. A 100 bucks was what the original promise was. This is 5o short! Of course you would not accept this.  You would regard me as in effect trying to break the promise. No?

On the flip side, suppose I say the following to you instead:

“I promise you that I will give you a 1,000 bucks on the last day of the month.”

Surely you would not object? And surely this does not speak ill of my character in anyway.  In fact it speaks the opposite. Perhaps I am very magnanimous.  Also if I do give the 1,000 at the end of the month, I cannot in anyway be charged with breaking my promise.

Yet also notice, this new $1,000 promise is what now holds. If I make this promise, then it over-rides the $100 promise. The greater promise in a sense nullifies the lesser promise. On the flip side, the $50 promise does not in any way nullify the $100 promise.

